Oyo Council Of Arts Begins Recruitment Of New Artistes To Expand Performing Troupe - EDU-BIZNEWS


Friday, February 9, 2024

Oyo Council Of Arts Begins Recruitment Of New Artistes To Expand Performing Troupe

Oyo State Council for Arts and Culture has conducted auditions for new artistes, as part of moves to expand and rebrand  the State Performing Troupe.

The State Commissioner for the Ministry, Dr. Wasiu Olatubosun during the auditioning which took place today at the open space of the Cultural Centre, Mokola Ibadan, stated that the rebranded performing troupe would promote Oyo State’s cultural heritage, norms and values thus projecting the State positively.

Olatubosun charged the auditionees on sacrificial resilience and unwavering determination to work with the visionary structure of the Ministry. 

He further urged them to see the phase as an avenue to contribute meaningfully towards the progressive drive of culture and tourism development in the State; asserting that outstanding performances will surely be a source of revenue generation through  public acceptability and recognition.
Also speaking, the General Manager, Oyo State Council for Arts and Culture, Mrs Olayinka Adedeji admonished the participants to be good ambassadors of the Council and project the image of the State and bring their expertise to bear should they be successful at the auditions.

Youths and young adults turned out in their numbers for the auditions to display their talents ranging from praise poetry to oral poetry known as 'Esa' and 'Ijala' respectively. Others displayed singing, chanting, drumming and dancing skills.

Other special features included artistic musical performances, acrobatic display, dance drama, theatrical mimes and cross-cultural music presentation.

Panelists drawn from the Creative Industry conducted the auditions and chose the best candidates. 

The panelists were Oriyomi Duro Ladipo, Biodun Adekanmbi, Christopher Abdul Onibasa and some directors of the Ministry.

The audition was birthed by a nine-member committee comprising Directors of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism and Oyo State Council for Arts and Culture as well as Creative Artists, chaired by Mr Adekunle Agboola.

No comments:

Post a Comment