Ogun Assembly Re-elects Oluomo As Speaker After Elemide's Last-minute Withdrawal - EDU-BIZNEWS


Tuesday, June 20, 2023

Ogun Assembly Re-elects Oluomo As Speaker After Elemide's Last-minute Withdrawal


Ogun State House of Assembly on Tuesday finally re--elected Prince Olakunle Oluomo as its speaker for the tenth legislature, after last minute withdrawal by Hon .Oludaisi Elemide from the race for speakership admidst pressure from highly influencial leaders of the All Progressive Congress(APC) in the state 

Edu-biznews learnt that the re-election of Oluomo representing Ifo-one Constituency as the APC consensus candidate for the exalted office took several hours of horse trading and serious pressure on Elemide who is another APC ranking  member representing Odeda Constituency  from the same Ogun Central Senatorial District, to withdraw from the race and pave way for the eventual speaker to emerge unopposed 

He was elected as the speaker along with Hon(Mrs) Bolanle Ajayi (Yewa South Constituency) who emerged as the first female Deputy Speaker in the history of the State

Oluomo's emergence followed the nomination of Musefiu Lamidi (Ado-Odo/Ota II) seconded by Hon.  Ifedolapo Owode  (Ijebu East) while the Deputy Speaker's nomination was moved by Hon. ( Mrs.) Oluwayemisi  Bakare (Ijebu Ode) and seconded by Hon.Kaka Olusegun (Ijebu North-two)

The emergence of the duo was shortly after the Clerk and Head of Legislative Service, 'Deji Adeyemo read the Governor's proclamation of the 10th Assembly at the session held at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, around 1.50pm almost four hours from  10am earlier scheduled

In his acceptance speech, Speaker Oluomo after his nomination and election assured that he would run the affairs of the House with fairness, equity and justice for the benefit of the State. 

Oluomo, shortly after his inauguration commended the support of Governor Dapo.Abiodun, his colleague-lawmakers for their support towards his emergence, reassuring that the Assembly would sustain the culture of transparency with commitment to the development of the State through collaboration with other arms of government. 

The speaker who particularly extended his hands of fellowship to Hon.Elemide, admonished other  colleague-lawmakers to shun divisive politics, with a view to promoting symbiotic relationship with other arms of government through quality legislation and representation to engender more development for the benefit of the people.  

On her part, the new Deputy Spaker, Hon. Ajayi appreciated her colleague-lawmakers with an assurance of being proactive and committed to legislative duties and the progress of the legislative arm and the entire State. 

Members who were later administered with Oaths of Allegiance and that of  Office included Yusuf Sheriff (Ado-Odo/Ota 1), Akingbade Jemili, (Imeko Afon), Lamidi Musefiu (Ado-Odo/Ota II), Elemide Oludaisi (Odeda), Adeniran Ademola (Sagamu II), Wahab Haruna (Yewa North II), Amosun Yusuf (Ewekoro), Soneye Damilola (Obafemi/Owode), Adegoke Adeyanju ( Yewa North I) Odunuga Olusegun (Ijebu North II) and Salami Fola (Ifo II)

Others included Adeleye Olalekan (Odogbolu), Oyedele Bisi (Ipokia), Bello Damilare( Sagamu I), Bakare Olanrewaju Oluwayemisi (Ijebu Ode), Ayodele Sunday (Abeokuta South II), Owode Ifedolapo (Ijebu East), Tella Babatunde (Abeokuta North), Kashamu Abdul (Ijebu North I), Lawal Adekunle (Ogun Waterside), Atobatele Olajide (Abeokuta South I), Adesanya Oluseun (Ijebu North East), Owodunni Babajide (Ikenne) and Dickson Awolaja (Remo North).

The inauguration had in attendance the State Deputy Governor, Engr. Noimot Salako-Oyedele, Secretary to the State Government, Tokunbo Talabi, Former Deputy Governor, Prince Segun Adesegun, former Speaker, Tunji Egbetokun,  top government and political functionaries amongst others.

In similar vein, the Assembly at the first sitting passed four Resolutions including: H.R. No 001/OG/ 2023- Tampering with Witnesses Evidence, H.R. No. 002/OG/2023-Given False Evidence, H.R. No. 003/OG/2023- Protection of the Precincts of the House by the Nigeria Police Force and H.R No. 004/OG/ 2023- Votes and Proceedings of the House.

No comments:

Post a Comment