FUNAAB NASU Demands Reversal Of Demoted Staff - EDU-BIZNEWS


Wednesday, December 9, 2020

FUNAAB NASU Demands Reversal Of Demoted Staff

 Non-Academic Staff Union (NASU) of the Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta (FUNAAB) has demanded the reversal of the demotion of four of its members who were suspended for six months and paid half salaries for their involment in the joint Industrial action with the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSAN), to protest the non-payment of Earned Allowance and other allowances by the University's management.

The union is also asking the University's Vice-Chancellor to refund the remaining salaries of the affected members, describing the punishment as injustice against staff who were demanding for their rights.

FUNAAB Branch Chairman of the union, Comrade Samson Idowu Edivri addressing newsmen on Tuesday in Abeokuta during the  Regular NASU Universities and Inter-Universities Centres Trade Group Council Meeting, listed other issues to be reviewed by the university's management to include non-payment of the 2018 promotion arrears as well as non-payment of seven months outstanding of over time allowances to security staff,drivers and other deserved members since April, 2020 and provision of safety gadgets and working tools for technicians.

Other demands of the union are provision of security equipment and frequent training for security staff and provision of personal protective equipment (PPE) for staff.

NASU however honoured FUNAAB immediate past Vice-Chancellor, Professor Olusola Oyewole with distinguished award for ensuring that the union conducted its election after refusal of his predecessor for two years inspite of various court judgements .

The union also appreciated the former Vice-Chancellor for offering scholarship worth N2million to its members as well as upgrading and conversion of  its members in addition to regular promotion on yearly basis through out his five years tenure in office.

Also honoured with Distinguished Award is the immediate past branch chairman and NEC member of the union since 2015 , Comrade Isiaq Olajide Odunjo who is being immortalized with the naming of the newly commissioned NASU-FUNAAB Auditorium after him for his sacrifice in ensuring peace reign in the union and resuscitating NASU on campus and providing responsible and responsive leadership among other notable effort to reposition the union.

Other awardees included Prof.Kola Adebayo who was appreciated for offering scholarship to members and their children and Benjamin Ogunleye (Esq) for offering legal services to the union in its various litigations on labour matters  in court.

Comrade Edivri also noted the support of the national leadership of NASU led by its General Secretary, Prince Peters Adeyemi (JP) and non-members of the union, Prof.Eromosele I.C, Prof.Onwuka C.F.I, Prof.Arowolo T.A, Prof.(Mrs) Eromosele C.O, Prof.,(Mrs) Dipeolu M.A, Prof.Oluwalana S.A, Prof.Sowande O.S, Prof.Agboola A.A.A, Prof.Alegbeleye W.O, Prof.Atayese M.O, Prof Badmus B.S and Dr.Oni A.O who according to NASU joined in the struggle to build a virile union .

No comments:

Post a Comment