FG Constitutes New Governing Councils For Tertiary Institutions.. To Inaugurate Members On May 30 - EDU-BIZNEWS


Saturday, May 18, 2024

FG Constitutes New Governing Councils For Tertiary Institutions.. To Inaugurate Members On May 30


Federal Government of Nigeria has finally announced the constitution of new governing councils for its 111 tertiary institutions including 50 universities, 37 polytechnics, and 24 colleges of education  in the country.

The Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Didi Esther Walson-Jack who made the list of governing Councils' members known in a statement on Saturday , stated that inauguration and retreat of the councils would hold on May 30 and 31, 2024.

“The inauguration and retreat for the Governing Councils will take place on Thursday, May 30 and Friday, May 31, 2024, at the National Universities Commission, 26 Aguiyi Ironsi Street, Maitama, Abuja. Both events will commence at 9:00am daily.”she stated 

The list which contained names of technocrats, politicians and traditional rulers, has a former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Attahiru Jega and a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Yusuf Alli; former Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Peter Okebukola, and labour activist, Issa Aremu, among the individuals appointed to lead the councils of various academic institutions.

The former INEC Chairman will serve as the Chairman of the Governing Council of the Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto (UDUS), Messrs Olanipekun, Alli, Okebukola and Aremu will chair the councils for the University of Lagos (UNILAG), Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB), University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT), Rivers State, and Federal College of Education (Technical), Keana, Nasarawa State.

Others on the list include a former Governor of Bauchi State, Isa Yuguda, who will chair the governing council of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN); Joy Emordi, a former Senator, who will chair the council of Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education, Owerri, Imo State, and a former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Yayale Ahmed, who will lead the council of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, Kaduna State.

The immediate-past Executive Secretary of NUC, Adamu Rasheed, who resigned from office a few months into his second term in office, was also named to chair the governing council of the Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo, Benue State.
This is coming few days after the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) threatened to strike nationwide over the non-constitution of governing councils for universities months after they were dissolved.

It will be recalled that the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) has been agitating for the reconstitution of the various governing councils after their dissolution in June by the National Universities Commission (NUC) as  directed by  President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

President of the union,.Prof. Emmanuel Osodeke at a news conference held last Tuesday vowed to down tools, if government failed to announce the constitution of new governing Councils' for respective tertiary institutions 

“ASUU shall do all within its powers to ensure that the dignity of the academia is fully restored in line with practices obtainable in forward-looking climes,”

“So, Nigerians should hold the Federal and State Governments responsible if the matter of Governing Councils is allowed to snowball into an avoidable industrial crisis.”

No comments:

Post a Comment