ICAN Celebrates LASU Bursar With Distinguished Role Model Award - EDU-BIZNEWS


Sunday, January 14, 2024

ICAN Celebrates LASU Bursar With Distinguished Role Model Award

For his impactful contributions and commitment to the foremost professional Body, the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN) Ojo, Badagry and Agbara (OBA) and District Society has honoured Lagos State University, Ojo, Bursar, Mr. Said Babatunde Olayinka, FCA, with a Distinguished Role Model Award.

 The highly accomplished Accountant received the award on Saturday, 13th January 2024 during the ICAN OBA and District 10th Anniversary programme held at the Martinos Hotel and Suites Ikeja, Lagos. 

Presenting the award to him at the prestigious ceremony, which had in attendance the who-is-who in the accounting profession in the district, ICAN President, represented by the Governing Council Member & OBA District Coordinator, Dr. Njum Uma-Onyemenam, the incumbent Accountant-General of Abia State, praised Mr. Olayinka for his immense contributions not only to the ICAN OBA and District Society but also to the professional body as a whole. "On my personal testimony, he is someone who is a role model to many, a true example to everyone and I am happy today that you are being honoured", she said.

Olayinka was in the company of other eminent personalities on the Honours list including the Inspector General of Police, Mr Kayode Egbetokun; All Progressives Congress (APC) Chairman in Lagos State, Hon. Cornelius Ojelabi, a former president of the ICAN during whose tenure ICAN OBA and District society was approved, Mr Doyin Owolabi, FCA, the Alagbara of Agbara Kingdom, HRM. Oba (Barr). Jayeola Agunbiade; the Oloja Eku of Igbesa Land, HRM. Oba Abdulazeez Akinde, and the incumbent  National Treasurer of ICAN, Mr. Biola Tobi, FCA, amongst others.  

Olayinka's honour, the first of its kind to be bestowed on a Bursar at Lagos State University specifically highlights his outstanding leadership, mentorship, and positive impact on the accounting community in the district.

The award also reinforces his place as an inspiring figure for aspiring professionals in the industry, another positive for the administration of the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ibiyemi Ibilola Olatunji-Bello, mni, NPOM. 

As expected, colleagues from LASU, family and friends turned out in large numbers to celebrate Mr Olayinka, who could fittingly be described as a man of the people. The roll call of his supporters present included the Chairman of Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Lagos Chapter, Comrade (Chief) Agnes Sesi, former Dean, Postgraduate School, Prof. Joseph Olagunju; Director DICT, Prof. Oluwatoyin Enikuomehin; Director Centre for General Nigerian Studies, Prof. M.O.B Mohammed and his spouse; Director Internal Audit, Mrs Margaret Ogunkoya; and Special Assistant to the VC, Dr Lateef Salami and Deputy Bursars in the department. Also present were Executives of the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU) led by Comrade Seyi Lawal and the Executives of Non-Academic Staff Union of Nigeria Universities (NASU), led by Comrade Obafemi Sanni, Staff of the Bursary Department, the Directorate of Internal Audit and the Vice Chancellor's Office. 

Also conspicuously represented were members of the Olayinka's Companions, a group of friends of the Awardee.

Speaking to journalists on the award, Mr. Olayinka expressed his gratitude to the Body for finding him worthy of such a prestigious award noting that it gladdens his heart to be recognized for his efforts. He assured me that he would not relent in promoting the good name of ICAN OBA and District Society, as well as the professional Body as a whole. 

Olayinka, an indigene of Epe, Lagos State, began his service as a Level 2 Officer at the Lagos State University and rose to become the first substantive Director of Internal Audit, and later, the Bursar of the university by dint of hard work and dedication. 

It is also on record that he is the first junior staff member to reach the last rung of the ladder in LASU and equally the first junior staff who rose to become a principal officer and member of the University Management. 

No comments:

Post a Comment