TUC Seeks Remittance of 8Years Pension Funds,Gratuities Of Retirees In Ogun - EDU-BIZNEWS


Thursday, August 19, 2021

TUC Seeks Remittance of 8Years Pension Funds,Gratuities Of Retirees In Ogun

Trade Union Congress TUC has demanded for remission of unremitted eight years pension funds of worker on the payroll of the Ogun State Government just as it asked for payment of gratuities of retirees, running into several billion of naira

The newly elected Chairman of TUC in the state, Comrade Akeem Lasisi who made the call at the union's 7th Delegates Conference on Thursday in Abeokuta, the state capital, expressed concern over the hardship being experienced by the affected retirees as a result of the unpaid gratuities, "Our aged retirees need government's attention now that they are still breathing

He also explained that both the workers contributions and the counter part funds by the government had not been remitted to the appropriate Pension Fund Administrator in the last eight years

Other demands listed by TUC, include immediate employment of more hands to address the inadequate workforce at various Ministries Departments and Agencies MDAs as well as release of letters of promotion exercise conducted and payment of seven years unpaid leave allowances for all categories of workers

The union asked the Prince Dapo Abiodun's administration to think out of the box to meet the various demands of workers saying,"if it means or requires that government has to free itself from the encumbrances occasioned by high cost of running government, so be it"

Lasisi who is currently the Chairman of Academic Staff Union of Teachers ASUSS in the state, however assured members and workers that the TUC   newly elected officials would continue to engage government and every stakeholder in robust and rewarding conversation in the interest of workers

Other officers elected  at the conference of the State Council are Comrade Olaniyi Okewole (Vice-Chairman), Comrade Donnish Oriola (Assistant Secretary), Comrade Debo Ogunlolu (Treasurer) Tiwalade Akingbade (Financial Secretary), Comrade Basheer Obabiyi (Auditor), Comrade Babatunde Falodun (Public Relations Officer), Comrade Omolara Sansa (Chairperson Women Commission) and Comrade  Olubunmi Fajobi, the immediate past Chairman as Ex-Officio

No comments:

Post a Comment