impeachment: OGHA Probes Deputy Speaker Over Alleged Misconduct - EDU-BIZNEWS


Tuesday, March 2, 2021

impeachment: OGHA Probes Deputy Speaker Over Alleged Misconduct

Ogun State House of Assembly has constituted an ad-hoc Committee to investigate allegations of misconduct leveled against its Deputy Speaker, Dare Kadiri 

The committee members include the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff, to serve as the Chairman, with Honourables Abdul Bashir Oladunjoye, Bolanle Ajayi, Adeyemi Ademuyiwa, Modupe Mujota  as members while the Director of Committee of the Assembly, Mr. Temitope Hokon, would serve as Secretary.

The committee is  to submit its findings within 72 hours in line with the Assembly’s standing order.

Speaker of the house, Right. Hon. Olakunle Oluomo announced the membership of the Committee at the plenary session held on Tuesday in the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta 

The Constitution of the Committee followed the adoption of the “Report on the Notice for Removal of the Deputy Speaker, Hon. Dare Kadiri from Office for Gross Misconduct” as presented by the Clerk and Head of Legislative Services, Mr. Deji Adeyemo through a motion moved by Hon. Akeem Balogun, seconded by Adegoke Adeyanju with the support of all other lawmakers.    
Hon.Damilola Soneye moved the motion for the ratification of the Committee,, seconded by Sikirat Ajibola and unanimously supported by other lawmakers through a voice vote.

The report presented by the clerk reads in parts:
 “Mr. Speaker, Sir distinguished Honourable members, on Thursday, 25th February, 2021 at exactly 7:10pm. I received a letter titled Notice for the Removal of the Deputy Speaker, Hon. Dare kadiri from office for gross misconduct and it was endorsed by twenty (20) honourable members.

In consonance with the provisions of Order 2, Rule 11(i) of the Standing Orders of the House, the notice was served on the Deputy Speaker of the House, Hon. Dare Kadiri at 11:43 am on Friday, 26th February, 2021 to meet the deadline of 24 hours and his response was received by 00.28am on Monday 1st March, 2021 to fulfill the 72 hours period provided for the response in Order 2, Rule 11 (ii)”. 

Adeyemo added that upon receipt of his response, the Deputy Speaker was subsequently served with a letter on Monday, 1st March, by 3:10pm directing him to stand down from plenary sessions forthwith until he was acquitted of the charges as provided in Order 2, Rule 11(iii). He thereafter recommended the exercise for further action of the House as provided in Order 2, Rule 11 (iv), (v)(vi)(vii)(viii) of the Assembly’s Standing  Order.

Edu-Biznews recalled that the Embattled Deputy Speaker was detained by the State Police Command at its headquarters in Eleweran Abeokuta, last Friday,following allegation of assault against him

Kadiri, who represents Ijebu-North at the state assembly, was said to have carried out the alleged assault on other members of the party during the membership revalidation exercise of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state.

He was alleged to have  led thugs to the residence of the Secretary to the State Government, Tokunbo Talabi, to attack him and also invaded the residence of a former state legislator Adebiyi Odugbesan, in Oru-Ijebu, Ijebu North Local Government Area of the state.

Kadiri had accused the two chieftains of hoarding the registration materials for the ongoing APC registration and revalidation exercise in the state.

Meanwhile the Assembly has confirmed the appointment of Governor Dapo Abiodun’s nominees for the post of Chairman and members of the State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC), having found them eligible and suitable to assume the exalted offices being nominated for by the Governor. 

The approval was sequel to the adoption of the report of the Committee of the Whole House chaired by Speaker Oluomo, as presented by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff, who also moved the motion for its adoption and seconded by Hon. Bolanle Ajayi.

The nominees are: Mr. Babatunde Adetona Osibodu (Chairman) and other members including Mr. Olatunji Isaac Akoni, Mr. Tajudeen Soyeolu Omolaja, Mr. Ayodele A. Bankole and Mrs. Gbemi Onasanya.

It would be recalled that the Assembly had earlier screened the nominees with an admonition to them to further strengthen the electoral process at the local government level in the state by ensuring transparency and all-inclusive electoral policies

The house asked the nominees to create an enabling environment and a level playing field for all contending political parties and contestants to freely exercise their franchise if confirmed by the Assembly and subsequently sworn in by the Governor.

No comments:

Post a Comment