FG Gives 37 Licences To More Private Varsities - EDU-BIZNEWS


Saturday, June 10, 2023

FG Gives 37 Licences To More Private Varsities

The number of private universities established in Nigeria has now increased to 147, following operational licences issued by the  federal government to the 37 newly approved private universities in the country.

Edu-biznews recalled that the Federal Executive Council, FEC, had on May 15,2023, approved the registration of 37 private universities in the country

Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission,(NUC),Prof. Abubakar Rasheed revealed the increased number during the
 presentation of the licences to the newly established private universities at the commission's headquarters in Abuja on Friday

The NUC boss,who also said the country now has a total of 264 universities, described investment in tertiary education as a requirement for human capital development in Nigeria.

He emphasised the need for establishment of more universities, considering the increasing number of qualified  students from secondary schools and the high demand for university education  

”The Nigerian statistics of high demand of tertiary education is grossly inadequate. Statistics put the number of enrollment in tertiary institutions at 2.23 million which is about 12 per cent of the total population of 220 million,” he disclosed 

He however urged the proprietors of the newly established universities to see the motive for creating the universities as social responsibilities to contribute to development of human capital and  not for money making

His words ,”In establishing universities, you don’t expect to get financial rewards. If your main motive is to make money, then you are in a wrong place. You are here to pay back to humanity"

”The establishment of private universities is in dire need of passion from people, so that passion should drive you.”

Rasheed who  charged the proprietors of the new private universities on the need for quality assurance, assured them of the commission’s support and cooperation to grow the university system.

Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education,Mr David Adejo who spoke during the event, said the federal government was committed to public private partnership, especially in education sector which gave rise to the new universities.

According to him, the gross total enrollment ratio stands at 12 per cent so there is a gap between demand and supply and as long as this gap exists, government will continue to welcome proposals for university’s enrollment by credible group.

He said the government would ensure that quality assurance and minimum standards in those universities were not compromised.

The new universities issued with operational licences include Rayhaan University, Kebbi state, Muhammad Kamalu-Deen University, Kwara state, Sam Maris University, Ondo state and Aletheia University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun state; Lux Mundi University, Abia state, Maduka University, Enugu state, Peaceland University, Enugu state, Amadeus University, Abia state, Vision University , Ogun state, Azman University, Kano state, Huda University, Zamfara state, Franco British International University, Kanuna and Canadian University of Nigeria, FCT.

Others are Miva Open University, FCT, Gerar University of Medical Sciences, Ogun state, British Canadian University, Cross River state, Hensard University, Bayelsa State, Phoenix University, Nasarawa State Wigwe University, Rivers state and Hillside University of Science and Technology, Ekiti state.

Also, are the University of the Niger, Anambra state Elrazi University of Medical Sciences, Kano state, Venite University, Ekiti state, Shanahan University, Anambra state, the Duke Medical University, Cross River state, Mercy Medical University, Osun State, Cosmopolitan University, FCT, Iconic Open University, Sokoto State, West Midland Open University, Oyo State and Amaj University, FCT are in the list.

Others are: Prime University, FCT, El-Amin University, Niger state, College of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Kaduna state, Jewel University, Gombe, Nigerian University of Technology and Management, Lagos State, Al-Muhibbah Open University, FCT and Al-Bayan University, Kogi state.

No comments:

Post a Comment