Ogun Flood Victims Get Relief Materials - EDU-BIZNEWS


Wednesday, December 21, 2022

Ogun Flood Victims Get Relief Materials

Ogun State Government has distributed relief materials received from the Federal Government through the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), to victims of the 2021 flood disaster in 14 Local Government Areas of the state.

The State Commissioner for Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs,  Hon. (Mrs.) Oluwafemi Ilori-Oduntan who delivered the materials including food and non-food items to the representatives of the  Local Governments in Abeokuta,  said the gesture was a social welfare intervention by the government, to cushion the effects of flood in the country, as well as give succor and ease tension on the victims, particularly the vulnerable.

Ilori-Oduntan enjoined the management of the Local Governments to handle the items conscientiously, stating that it was a way of bringing dividends of democracy to the people.

 Speaking earlier, the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry, Mr. Lateef Benson recalled the devastating effects of flood on the people and government, calling on chairmen of the Local Governments to ensure that the items get to those directly affected by the disaster.

Also speaking, the Director of the State Emergency Management Agency (OGSEMA), Mr. Olawale Shonde enlightened the people on the prevention of flood, urging them to imbibe the culture of environmental sanitation in their various communities.

Responding, the representatives from Imeko Afon and Ijebu North Local Government Areas, Honourables Noah Abulagbe and Saheed Oshinyemi acknowledged the Federal and the State governments for the gesture, pledging to judiciously distribute the items to the affected victims.

The 14 benefitting Local Governments include Ewekoro, Ijebu North, Ijebu-Ode,  Imeko-Afon, Remo North, Abeokuta South, Abeokuta North, Sagamu, Ikenne, Ado-Odo/Ota, Yewa North, Yewa South, Ifo and Odogbolu.


No comments:

Post a Comment